1. Explodjoe

Explodjoe New Member

Hello! My name is not Joe!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Explodjoe, Dec 18, 2008.

Hello everyone. My name is Ryan, but for reasons that are entirely an in-joke with my friends, I go by Joe on the internet...Explodjoe to be specific.

I'm an artist whose been hit pretty hard by this economy. Having to increase my work hours to 50+ hours a week has given me a terrible arthritis in my hands making drawing nearly an impossibility. So around the end of October I decided to give writing a try! I'm a huge fan of reading and I've got a few stories in my head that deserve to be written down. Since typing doesn't kill my hands too bad, I'm going to give my artwork a break and try exercising a new medium of art. I have high hopes from what I've read so far that this community will help me work through this awkward novice period and help mold my writing into something that is worthy of the stories I want to create.

I look forward to some good reading and some good writing here!

Thank you!
    Explodjoe

2. Honeybun

Honeybun Active Member

Hi ExploJoe, and welcome to the forum. I'm sorry to what happened to you, but, hey! look what good came from it! I'm sure you've found the right place and good luck with your writing here. You'll get the help you need. :)

Keep it up ;)

3. Chey

Chey New Member

Hello Ryan! I have lupus which gives me bad arthritis in my hands too, so I feel ya there. Writing still hurts them but its the love of the story that keeps me typing even when I dont' want to!

Welcome to the forums!

4. Kit

Kit Contributor Contributor

Welcome to the forums :)

5. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Ryan, Welcome to the Writing Forums.

I'm not sure if substituting writing for drawing will really do much to alleviate repetitive motion trauma, but by all means, go for it!