1. David Kingrey

David Kingrey New Member

Greetings!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by David Kingrey, Apr 12, 2017.

Hello, fellow wordsmiths!

My name is David and I am a writer, though admittedly, I’ve not been living like one. I recently was able to leave my job doing technical support for Apple, because of my wife’s new job. The story of how I got from degrees in English and Communications is long and boring, but it was mostly out of necessity, to provide for my wife and our two sons. This is the first time I’ve ever had some breathing room to seriously pursue my true calling (excuses, excuses lol.)

I woke up one morning, and realized I wasn’t living the life I truly desired, and I had an opportunity to change, so here I am. This is where I’m at:

I have four or five books I’ve been working on over the years in various stages of completion. One is a handwritten super-outline which is pretty close to actually being a first draft. I’ve done a little freelance content writing work, which is tedious, but I’m looking for legitimate ways to generate income writing while I chase the dream.

The dream is not to get rich or be the next Stephen King. The goal is just to generate an income, even a modest one, and get whatever books I have in me out there for people to read or ignore as they please. I primarily like fantastic and speculative fiction, but I enjoy literary fiction and other genres as well. I plan to write fantasy and sci-fi for young adult audiences, because I want to inspire young imaginations, as mine was, but I know I have at least one true literary work in me - it’s been a bumpy, colorful life lol.