Tags:
  1. DustFeathers

DustFeathers New Member

Character Advice?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by DustFeathers, Dec 6, 2006.

The protagonist in my latest attempt at writing something passable (see http://www.writingforums.com/showthread.php?t=69668, if I can be so bold as to link to an exterior site) is also the narrator. However, he is neither my gender nor my age - he's a nineteen-year-old guy, and I'm a fifteen-year-old girl. Am I being presumptuous by trying to write from his perspective? Or is it acceptable as a creative effort?

Also, I'm worried that he and some of the other characters are stereotypes, which I hate, because I'm a real character-led writer. I've tried to round them out as much as possible, but I don't know what else I can do. If any of you are interested, I can give outlines and let you judge for yourselves, but for now I'll leave you with that.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

...presumptuous, no, since as a writer, you're free to do anything you want... overreaching, probably, since at your tender age you haven't broad enough experience with people of other ages and gender to be able to get inside their heads and write them believably... so, until you're older and have 'lived more' the wiser course would be to stick to what you know best, character-wise...

...that depends on whether you can pull it off, or not... i'm sure a rare few could... if you want to go ahead and give it your best shot, you can then ask some knowledgable folk to let you know if it worked... i'll be happy to give it a look, if you do...

...stretching our writer's muscles is never a bad thing... even if we fail, we learn...

love and hugs, maia

3. IndianaJoan

IndianaJoan New Member

The gift a writer has is the ability to dive into the heads of any character we wish. If we were limited to characters of our own social class and gender how boring a world it would be!

4. zerobytes

zerobytes New Member