Tags:
  1. criticalsexualmass

criticalsexualmass Active Member

POV entire novel as told by character

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by criticalsexualmass, Aug 22, 2013.

I've finished a rough draft of a novel. the protagonist is telling the entire story while sitting in a bar on the beach in argentina. I have a few questions about using this POV and voice. Has anyone read a story written like this where it really worked (or really didn't work)? I chose this route partly because the story is very close to me in some ways and telling it as if it had happened to me was more natural, but i've never written a story from this view before. Can anyone tell me their experience in writing a story like this? It felt right, in that i could type in the same voice i would be speaking in. It makes the entire novel dialogue.

So, any warnings? Pitfalls to using this style? pointers? Advice? Threats?

2. ManOrAstroMan

ManOrAstroMan Magical Space Detective Contributor

first off, congratulations on finishing your rough draft!
    I wouldnt worry too much about the POV issue. First-person perspective can work just as well as third-person, often better, depending on the story.
    the only thing i could see causing a problem is if the narrator is actually conversing with the other person in the bar, or his actions as he tells the story are described. That shift could disorient the reader and take them out of the story. if you do plan on telling the story of a person telling a story, make sure you keep the two parts separate.
    Water for elephants was told this way and is generally accepted as a very successful story.

3. NigeTheHat

NigeTheHat Contributor Contributor

If you've finished the draft, you should already know if it works or not. If it reads well, I see no problem.

4. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor