1. Alya

Alya New Member

How much does living out of the US or UK put me at a disadvantage?

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by Alya, Oct 18, 2015.

So, I'm a writer from Pakistan and we don't have any concept of literary agents here or publishers in the English language. I was wondering if that would make my chances in getting an agent (who are USUALLY from America) slim? I mean, the agent might have communication problems with me and obviously there can never be a face-to-face agent/editor-writer relation. Is it too much of a far fetched goal if I'm a million miles away and still hoping to get published by a US publishing company?

jannert likes this.
  2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Good question. I'm looking forward to the answer, if it comes from somebody in the know. We do have lots of people on this forum who don't live in either the USA or the UK ...maybe they'll weigh in.

I live in the UK, but I'm an American, and feel that since I write as an American, and my story is set there, that I am at a disadvantage for the same reason you are. I won't ever be face to face with my natural market. I'm intending to self-publish, so that won't be too big of an obstacle for me. But if I had intended to go the traditional publishing route, I'd be smack up against the same issue that concerns you. I hope you get a good answer to this one.

3. psychotick

psychotick Contributor Contributor

Hi,