1. jacktheknife

jacktheknife New Member

Non-fiction character development

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by jacktheknife, Sep 9, 2011.

Gentlemen,

My book is non-fiction.
    It is finished but for the next to last chapter, the trial chapter, and I can't write that till they have the trial. It is personal memoir of 30 years in my life. I live alone but for my girlfriend who used to come out on the weekends. There are not many people in the story but for Marci, and my connection at i-universe told me to "develop the characters".
    Now there are my hounds and they were all very personable, real characters they all were. But since women buy 90% of books and hounds buy none, and my i-universe connection Stephen, told me to "develop the characters", I am in an area that I have little experience.
    I understand this and will add more description of Marci's character. I just read here that a paragraph describing a character's hair and such is boring, and I agree. Marci is not a fictional character. She is my girl friend of 20 years and by 'developing her character' this doesn't mean a description of her hair, but her personality, her history and family ties. Her business and her likes and dislikes, her soul.
    I understand this but except for Marci, Carol, and myself the only characters in the story are the bad guys and there are a bunch of them. I have no idea what kind of character they have except that they are cowards. Short, fat policemen who like to hurt people. Or white trash who like to poison hounds, horses, steal land, rape children, lie, and are all basically the scum of the earth, all of them died in prison in 2002. The short, fat cops will die in prison too, they won't last a year, the prisoners will kill them too. That is the trial I am waiting for.

I have read that an Author should have characters who the readers loves whether they are good or bad. I see the one but not the other.