1. aimi_aiko

aimi_aiko New Member

Writing a Fantasy - Dos and Dont's

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by aimi_aiko, Jun 27, 2011.

While playing an MMORPG earlier tonight, I began consuming ideas of what could be a fantasy novel. I studied the creatures as well as the setting and began wondering if I could create a world of my own as well. I shut off my game and immediately grabbed my laptop to begin some research.

"Creating your own creatures"
    My choice of search engine (of course) was Google and I began researching about creating brand new creatures for my fantasy. I came across a website that pretty much answered my question for me, even though I already knew the answer, but wanted to make sure, and I quote:
    So I thought, I could create new creatures, but that is not my top priority right now. I then wanted to find out the "dos and don'ts" of writing a fantasy.

Source: The following information given are exerpts from www.creative-writing-solutions.com

DON'TS

DO'S

Those are only a few of the "Do's and Don'ts" that I chose to include, the given information is what I found most important to writing a well-thought out fantasy novel, and I will be following these guidelines when doing so. I suggest several of you to follow these guidelines as well, for they will be quite helpful to your story.

Any suggestions, feedback or questions you may have is greatly accepted and will be answered.

Thank you and happy writing.
    aimi_aiko

2. cybrxkhan

cybrxkhan New Member

Thoughts:

I think it should be fantasy cultures, not fantasy races, because not all fantasy have more than just humans. In fact, I think some fantasy authors don't know that you DON'T need to always have somebody other than humans.