1. HopingAgain

HopingAgain New Member

Do you read out loud, or write with audio in mind?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by HopingAgain, Sep 22, 2014.

My wife and I are audiobook narrators (her more than I) and I was curious if you write with that potential in mind?

Some phrasings really are a challenge even for the best narrators, though when read silently they may not seem difficult or hard to understand. Also, I've read some well known writers suggest to read what you write outloud. I think Stephen King even suggested in his book, though I may be getting it confused with another.

Anyway, I was just curious whether it was part of your process and/or if you thought it would be helpful or would get in the way (I'm a beginning writer).

2. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

I don't think about the audio aspect, no, and yeah sometimes when I read my stuff out loud to my husband, I find the sentences harder to read than I first thought lol. It's not a huge concern for me though because books are primarily read.

However, it might be smart to keep the audio aspect in mind when writing, since audiobooks are quite popular these days.

3. HopingAgain

HopingAgain New Member

Yeah, it is a growing trend and with ACX and Kindle it is growing even faster with all the Indie books going that route.

4. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

We read out portions of our novels at our writer's group, and it certainly flags up problem areas. What is most interesting is when we give our work to somebody else to read out loud, instead of reading it ourselves. The other person doesn't know what's coming, so they can only work with what's actually on the page. It's very helpful. No work is ever likely to be harmed by making the sentences flow more easily.

5. Christine Ralston

Christine Ralston Active Member