1. katica

katica New Member

I need a word for a sound

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by katica, Jul 1, 2011.

Sorry if what I am writing disturbs anybody. It's a sound involving death.

Basically, the upper half of a man's body and the lower half of his body are tied up separately and the ropes pulled. He is ripped in half and dies. What noise would a person being ripped in half make if that were to happen to someone?

I tried "rip" and "pop" but am not sure if either of those is right.

2. MRD

MRD New Member

A lot of screaming I'd imagine, and then a loud snap, followed swiftly by silence.

If it's a medieval setting, where somebody is undergoing a public execution, then the crowd would also be cheering and making noise.

Perhaps there would be multiple "snaps" and "pops", as each of the victims joints give way in turn? I'm not really an expert when it comes to torture and execution...

3. Omega14

Omega14 New Member

I would say some hollow popping as limbs became dislocated, followed by the sickening squelch of flesh being torn apart and a splatter of entrails on the ground.

Urghh.

But taking into account MRD's point about whether it's a public execution, whether you would hear these noises above a jeering crowd ... who knows?

I imagine the sorts of noises that happen when you tear a cooked chicken apart with your bare hands.

I have no idea how long it would take to pull a person apart though - seconds, minutes? Could have some bearing on how many sounds you want to incorporate.

Sounds delightful. :)

Rachel

4. MRD

MRD New Member

Sounds painful to me...

I'm not sure flesh would tear along side bone, it is more flexible, after all. Perhaps muscles would be torn from bones?

I doubt that skin would tear though, unless there was already a cut on the victim's body before they began their stretch. The cut/wound would grow under the strain.