1. LoaDyron

LoaDyron Contributor Contributor

Writing details with character's feelings

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by LoaDyron, Oct 27, 2018.

I am a writer that likes to put a description in detail to give an ideia to the reader what the characters see. However, I recognize that is important as well to show how the characters feel. Could you please give me some advice on this? Many thanks.

2. hyacinthe

hyacinthe Banned

My best advice is to read "The Emotional Craft of Fiction" by Donald Maass.
    For a free resource on one technique for showing the character's emotions, try this LitReactor article by Chuck Palahniuk.

something I do before writing a scene is take the time to think about the emotions the narrator character is feeling, and how they change in the scene as a response to the conflict/actions of other characters in the scene.

One technique I use to share the character's emotional experience with the reader is to color the setting descriptions with emotionally biased words. So one character might narrate, "the fox stole lay around the woman's shoulders," and another character might narrate, "the fox stole lay dead around the woman's shoulders." it's the difference between describing a room as a charming curiosity full of treasures, or a dusty clutter of sentimental knickknacks. these emotionally biased words create interiority of mood, and they do a lot to guide the readers feelings.

Iain Sparrow and LoaDyron like this.
  3. LoaDyron

And that works even if the character isn't the narrator?

4. hyacinthe

hyacinthe Banned

who's the narrator, then?

5. LoaDyron

I believe there is a specific name for a type of narrator that isn't the characters in the story. But maybe I am wrong.

6. hyacinthe

hyacinthe Banned

there probably is a name, but I don't know what it is.