1. grnidone

grnidone New Member

Does anyone else feel naked when they get their work reviewed?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by grnidone, Apr 13, 2009.

I have to say, I love to review, but when it comes to getting my work reviewed, I feel absolutely naked. Completely vulnerable in a way I can't really explain.

I'd almost rather dance/ strip around a pole. It's that hard for me.

2. thegearheart

thegearheart New Member

I'm a professional designer, and I've worked with some really tough ad agencies. I guess that's what made me grow a thick skin. I try to always think of my writing as a work product- something that needs to be improved and sold, and my agency experience has given me a sense of detachment that has been invaluable.

So, to answer your question, I used to, but then I decided that I wanted to be a professional writer. The first step to becoming a pro, I believe, is getting over your writing jitters. However, I'm not a pro, so you can take or leave my comments. :)

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

You just have to grin and bare it.

4. crimsonrose

crimsonrose New Member

XD Kudos, Cogito.

5. thegearheart

thegearheart New Member

Oh, you.

6. Palmer

Palmer New Member

[​IMG]

:p Initially, people I don't know, not to mention those with an incredibly high post count or those who hold a "supporter" position, make me feel, bare when they write uber-long reviews or say something really concise that points out a blatant weakness in my work that would make me facepalm.