1. Kevin Teichman

Kevin Teichman Active Member

Writing accents

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Kevin Teichman, Aug 21, 2017.

I have a good amount of dialogue for my current story, and just found out that there are ways to spell the words within it to convey an accent.

How important is this? If the reader knows from the beginning that the character is French for example, is that acceptable? Would it be ok to write the dialogue in standard English if you did this?

I ask this because it would make for quite a project to go back and edit all the dialogue, I'm only a beginner so I don't even know where to start with it.

2. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

Derek was French,

'Give me a steak, medium rare, onions and a pint of beer,' he said in his delightful, most elegant French accent, 'and make it snappy I got a plane to catch to Paris in twenty minutes, garcon,' he said.

The waiter wilted, and whisked the bread rolls from the table. He rushed toward the kitchen.

'Treat em mean keep em keen,' said Derek in French, 'I fuggin love a steak, the blood, the juices remind me of slaughter,' he said.

'You are so typically French, my friend,' I replied and glided my long fingernail around my martini glass. 'With you here in my eyes I feel almost transported to the beaches of Scunthorpe, among family and proletarian comrades of the working class.'

3. matwoolf

All ways work and fail at different points in time. Although some critics do get rather precious-critical about the 'Eau, velkom to ma patty, darlingo,' school of dialogue.

Sorry for my scrawl, I was 'testing out'...stuff.

Kevin Teichman likes this.
  4. surrealscenes

surrealscenes Senior Member

Different spellings will throw some readers off, but other ways may not be noticed by some. I enjoy when accent is subtle or if a character has a regional way of speaking and it is handled well.