1. Hero-Jean629

Hero-Jean629 New Member

How to write in a serious yet funny way?

Discussion in 'Comedy and Humour' started by Hero-Jean629, Oct 15, 2011.

The theme that I'm writing about is rather serious, you could even call it grim but I want to add a bit of humor to it just because I feel like if I got too serious while writing it that potential readers might be turned off by it. Besides, it can't hurt to be slightly humorous even in dark and macabre situations...

2. Quezacotl

Quezacotl New Member

Read Shakespaere and Hitchhiker's Guide.

Have a few puns, some witty banter, and use some situational irony. Point out the absurdity of the situation, but never for too long.

3. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

I don't know what your theme is. But I will tell you what things are like from my perspective because I have dealt with it before:

First of all, I'm by no means a writing expert... I'm just sharing with you the few experiences I've had. But I have written a few "short" novels (the longest one had 50K words I believe) that were mysteries. And I really don't like "gritty" mysteries so I decided to go the lighthearted route by choice. However I was still dealing with murder mysteries and not something silly like "who stole my lunch money?". There were two things I noticed I did that ended up making the story feel more lighthearted yet still keep to the seriousness of being a mystery where people still die left and right.

1. Comedic relief is key: I wouldn't call myself a comedy writer at all. But just stupid things here and there do just fine. I would have a scene where the main characters hang out, blow off some steam, etc, in a way that isn't directly related to the crime. Now, usually I would have it relate somewhat to the story still, but sometimes it didn't.