1. Mark Theo Alexander

Mark Theo Alexander New Member

Troubles ending a scene.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Mark Theo Alexander, Oct 9, 2013.

I'm not new to writing. Just realizing I'm new to bringing a said chapter to a conclusion. Sometimes it feels like the chapter should end at a certain point or phrase. Other times it seems to end too suddenly. Anyone else have this dilemma? How do you finish yours..any tricks, rules or phrases that help with this sort of dilemma?

2. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

For me, I use chapters as dividers between important points of my story.
    So Chapter 1 MC has to deal with X and Y, do Z, and interact with this dude to get some info to move him along.
    Once all that is done, I end the chapter as what it needed to do has been done.

Think of ending it in a way that feels like a mini conclusion or perhaps in a way that transitions easily into the part/scene.

Basically, it has to flow well.

3. JayG

JayG Banned Contributor

You talk about a chapter, but title this ending a scene, so I'm assuming you believe them closely related. While a chapter end can also end a scene, it's not, in and of itself, a scene end. They will almost always end in a disaster of some kind that will cause the protagonist to lick their wounds, rethink and reword their plan, and begin the next scene with a bit more risk and fewer options, as the story heads toward the black moment where there are no options and all seems lost—the introduction to the climactic moment. In sounds as if you're thinking of scenes in the same way one writing a play or film might, as the action that takes place in one setting or time. That's true for films, where the structure of the medium tends to impose that, but not for printed-word fiction, where a scene is a unit of tension.