1. Dangerboy450

Dangerboy450 New Member

Plot outline for Novella

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Dangerboy450, Jul 31, 2012.

This is my first time writing narrative fiction in the form of a short story/ novella and I would like some advice on how to outline the plot with regards to chapter breaks.

I have written screenplays before and am familiar with that kind of structure but have never written long-form friction. Are the two types compatible? Does each chapter contain within itself its own 3 acts or do the chapter breaks coincide with scene changes, or still are chapters arbitrary to the larger plot points and act breaks that comprise the framework of the larger story?

Any suggestions are a appreciated. If an example of the work in question is required let me know. Thanks.

Sincerely
    Jonathan

2. Thornesque

Thornesque Senior Member

There really isn't a set method for where you feel that chapters should break off. Every writer will do it differently. What I typically do is determine what event I want to take place in each chapter and then I write through that event until I feel the end of the chapter. Often times, for me, it's when I reach a point where some sort of dialogue or action leaves a little bit of suspense for the reader. But there's really no method that should or needs to be followed as far as chapter breaks. It's whenever you think the chapter should end.

3. Crystal Parney

Crystal Parney New Member

I don't believe there's an exact method either. Its really up to the writer. I end my chapters when it feels right to me, and if possible I try to leave the end of a chapter with a cliff hanger.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Be advised that there is almost no market for novellas, outside of the YA market.

5. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member