1. stewiec

stewiec New Member

Permissions in writing

Discussion in 'Research' started by stewiec, Feb 23, 2018.

Hi all, im new to this so be gentle lol

All i'm looking to know is one thing. Im writing a book about a topic that one character uses a social media platform on a regular basis which turns in to a problem. Im just wondering if im free to write it or if i need permission from them to mention them

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

You don’t need permission to mention it, as a general rule. If you were putting the name in your title or something, you’d have more of an issue. Also, if you’re disparaging the social network or casting it in a bad light, there is some potential for trouble and it is better just to make something up.

Last edited: Feb 23, 2018
    Shenanigator likes this.
  3. cutecat22

cutecat22 The Strange One Contributor

I'm with @Steerpike on this one - if the social media is - in the long run - going to be the cause of the problem, or have a negative affect on the story, then make one up.

You see this a lot in shows like CSI et-al, they will be looking at something that looks like a person's facebook page but it will be called something else, like Facepage, or Lookbook.

In your case, I'd err on the side of caution and make one up.

4. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor

Permissions aside, mentioning specific social media platforms can very easily date your writing. Which can be a good thing or a bad thing, but I'd have trouble taking a story seriously if it was was trying to be current but was set entirely within the world of Plurk or Friendster.

Shenanigator likes this.
  5. Beloved of Assur

Beloved of Assur Active Member

As already mentioned I would probably make up some new name for a, kind of, copy of the social media in question rather than risk getting dragged down by a potentially angry company over your potrayal of them.

Shenanigator likes this.
  6. Cave Troll