1. Tall for a hobbit

Tall for a hobbit Member

Adjectives and adverbs: the correct balance of descriptive text

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Tall for a hobbit, May 25, 2018.

Hi all,

I'm a new writer. Though I have always written as a hobby, I'm now trying to make sure my writing is readable and perhaps even enjoyable.
    I often feel reticent to offer descriptive text, for both flavour and to convey information, because it can very quickly become too busy or clunky.
    Despite this, I often find that some of the authors I enjoy seem to almost drown their text in descriptive words, and I'd hardly noticed until the subject had started to occupy my mind. These are successful fantasy authors - George R. R. Martin, Robin Hobb - and whether their weighty descriptions are to my taste or not, obviously this must mean that a writer can get away with a certain amount of more descriptive phrasing, but when does it all become too much?

I'd be really interested in gathering a few opinions.

jannert likes this.
  2. DeeDee

DeeDee Contributor Contributor

If the text seems to "drown" then it appears you are struggling to go through the descriptive passages. But I, for example, don't see any drowning text. Everything seems to be in the right amount, to my taste. So for me those authors have found the right balance. Readers have different tastes, there is no one measurement for all. There are authors who write with less description, perhaps try to read those? There's a lot of fantasy books out there.

3. Tall for a hobbit

Tall for a hobbit Member