1. sanco

sanco New Member

Script vs. Prose

Discussion in 'Scripts and screenplays' started by sanco, Apr 12, 2013.

Hello, ladies and gentlemen. Bit of background: I've recently gotten into novels. I read when I was younger, but was never an avid reader. I'm also in my last semester at film school and deciding that I'd like to write novels instead of making films, I've started writing one. However, I feel like I may be bringing in some habits I've learnt from screenwriting and feel I have to unlearn all that in order for me to write prose. I've literally spent the past two years writing exclusively in script format.

I remember my first writing class where our lecturer told us to write a description of the room we were in, in 30 seconds. Afterwards, we all had to read our long-winded and poetic descriptions out loud. He then proceeded to write on the whiteboard: INT. LECTURE ROOM - DAY. I guess what I'm asking is, what are some of the differences I need to know about, aside from the obvious ones. For example, subtext in a script will be apparent through dialogue and how the director pulls it out of an actor's performance. I'm just a bit blank about how I should convey something like that when writing in prose narrative.

Discussion and advice will be greatly appreciated. It may be a stupid question, so forgive my ignorance.

2. Selbbin

Selbbin The Moderating Cat Staff Contributor Contest Winner 2023

You write a script for investors and crew. You write a novel for an audience. Basically, add everything the cast and crew will add. Descriptions, body language, inflections on tone, set design, mood. Then, depending on the style, add thoughts, history, narration, etc. Work on your dialogue tags, and bingo. A book.

3. sanco

sanco New Member

Thanks for the advice. What about exposition and the old "show don't tell"? Is exposition generally more acceptable in novels?

4. Selbbin