1. kayem

kayem New Member

I'm new! And excited!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by kayem, Apr 26, 2013.

Hi everyone,

Well first, thanks for reading my introduction. I found this forum earlier today and felt compelled to join immediately.. Anything that could help me with my writing seems like a great idea to me! I'm slightly nervous about critiquing others work as I'm not convinced I have much authority on that front, but we'll see how it goes and I'm sure, as with anything, practice will make perfect.

I'm an English student about to hand in my final dissertation: it's a creative piece which I've wrestled with for several months now. I wouldn't describe my relationship with it as being particularly harmonious. I've definitely had to bash it into shape. It's been a journey! But now it's coming to a close and I hope I've tamed the 6500 word beast. As you can probably tell, it's an acrimonious setup at best.

I've always wanted to be a writer since a was a child, and through my teens I imagined myself living quietly in a little cottage with a view, sipping on a nice cup tea and reeling out the bestsellers in double quick time. However, since that time I've realised that writing isn't quite like that! I've spent the last few days in particular, clinging to a coffee mug on the brink of collapse, staring vacantly at my laptop screen wondering if every word I've written is truly the worst thing anyone has ever dared put to paper, or if only some of it is. I've never felt self doubt like it!

Anyway, I'm going to hold on to the serene cottage dream and hope that in the months, years (decades!) to come this forum will help me finish my first novel.

So cheers everyone, here's to us all writing the best damn thing anyone has ever seen.

KM

2. jeepea

jeepea Member

Welcome to the forum. It's not a cozy cottage but you'll find the people are friendly and helpful.