1. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

Goodreads - who uses it?

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Lemex, Oct 2, 2014.

I have been using it properly for only a few months, and I think it's a fantastic site. Even if it's only for ego boosts. According to this, in the 2-3 months I have been using the site, I have read 4600 pages of text, which is a pretty handy way of judging your speed as a reader. Better than judging it by book numbers. And seeing what friends are reading, and how much because I'm by nature nosy is really cool to see.

I've also met someone on Goodreads who reads at least 500 books a year!

Who uses this site?

Kingtype, Cadavar and GingerCoffee like this.
  2. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

I have an account there, actually I had a few over the years, but I don't use it very often. Only when I'm at a loss for things to read or looking for something outside the genres I'm familiar with.

To be honest, I find reviews on Goodreads unreliable. I think a lot of people review books to show off their writing and reviewing skills, and many of them are terribly long-winded. Also, quite often I see praises for dreadful books and unfair criticising of the good ones (at least those I consider good). I wasted money more times than I care to mention, buying according to their advice only to end up with some unoriginal, superficial YA or worse. So now, I can't really say that I rely on the reviews much, I prefer amazon for that. As if spending money makes people more to the point.

Mike Hill and Wreybies like this.
  3. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor