1. muddy130

muddy130 Member

Do I Really Wanna Be A Writer?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by muddy130, Jan 16, 2013.

I remember the first time I enjoyed writing. It was my last writing assignment in English class on the last year of middle school. The assignment was to write a story, that's it, no format to follow. I was loving it and got an A. My teacher told me that I have the best paper in that class and in all of is other classes too, I was feeling good when I heard that. All through high school was loving the writing assignment that did't have a format and always got an A. But when I try to write at home I don't get that feeling all time, and I hate it. I felt like I finally found what I wanted to do for a living, now I don't know. Would love to hear other peoples opinion about this. Thank you.

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

Could be that you loved getting a response, having a deadline. It gave you motivation and a goal.
    Now that it's more free form with no feedback or praise you're allowing yourself the slack.
    Maybe give yourself a new goal, write a short story for a magazine or a short story contest and see how it
    goes.
    I'm up and down about my feelings on my writing - sometimes it's total frustration, sometimes it's
    elation. I don't think I've always felt up about my writing, there's too much work involved! lol.

3. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

That's the kind of question only one person can answer, and that's you.

Why is there, do you think, a difference between writing at home and writing at school? Is it simply because of the congratulations? If not just that, how can you make writing at home more enjoyable?

4. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor