1. tinkerstiles

tinkerstiles New Member

Character appearences

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by tinkerstiles, Dec 6, 2012.

This is my first time on this forum, and first time even actually thinking about writing. Anyway I am working on my characters and I was thinking about what they are all going to look like and I was just wondering how do most people decide on what characters look like? Do you just see them in your head and go from there? Or do you use specific actors/actresses to go off?
    I just like to know how other people work.

2. SGTGerman

SGTGerman Member

The answer to this is endless. I mean, I can't remember which character it was now but the guy who designed its face (it was a robot) took inspiration from a toothbrush handle!

The main character is always based on myself, as it helps me "be there" in the story better (with a few extra muscules and less acne of course lol). Other characters are based on a whole range of ideas drawn from tv - illustrations. People I know well - those I saw glimpses of throughout life.

3. tinkerstiles

tinkerstiles New Member

A toothbrush handle? wow I guess that works... It helps me to have something to look at so celebrities are great because they are pretty much endless but they give me inspiration and something to work with.

4. SGTGerman

SGTGerman Member

Another good example is The Millenium Falcon was inspired from a "bitten into" hamburger!

Another good one is RPGs like Fallout and Mass Effect where you can design your own characters.

5. tinkerstiles

tinkerstiles New Member

Huh I never noticed the Millennium Falcons resemblance to a hamburger before, that's weird.
    Also character design in games is pretty much my favourite part.

6. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor