1. J.T. Woody

J.T. Woody Book Witch Contributor

Mixing work and writing

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by J.T. Woody, Jun 26, 2021.

As im reading through the Guide To Literary Agents book, it noted finding connections or making a connection with the agent.

In my day job, i reach out to agents all the time to book author visits for events and to do author interviews.
    It has occured to me to reach out to them again (with my personal email) but im worried about burning those bridges in my work life.

Im worried about being unprofessional by reaching out... But in the flip side, i've had some pretty great experiences with a few agents and authors in my job.

Im really confused right now...

2. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor

Hmmm. I can see the dilemma in that. I'd be inclined to suggest that you use every advantage at your disposal since the odds of landing agents/trad deals are so remote. Like what... one manuscript out of every thousand? Every five thousand? Pick a number. But on the other hand, I can see where using professional influence for personal gain may not play well with certain agents, all of whom, I'm sure, have seen authors pull every trick imaginable to get themselves noticed.

But, honestly, all business comes down to personal relationships. I try to stress with all my chefs and managers--many of whom go on to run their own joints or purchase their own businesses--that your success in the business world won't always be determined by the inherent value of your product. Many times, it will depend on whether people like you or not. People who like you will want to see you succeed and be able to say they contributed to your success. People who don't like you will want to see you fail.