Tags:
  1. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

"I'm Not Very Good at Critiquing..."

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Cogito, Sep 8, 2007.

"I'm not very good at critiquing," is something I hear a lot, especially when members first realize they need to post reviews before they can submit their own work for review.

That's a lot like the frequently heard introductory remark, "I'm not very good at writing xxxx, but I want to get better at it." The solution, of course, is practice and getting feedback.

But where do you start?

Most beginning reviewers start with "I really like this," or "I just couldn't get into this." That isn't really a critique, but it is a great starting point for you to analyze from.

What specifically did youi like (or not) about it? The more specific you can be, the better. As you comment on more pieces, you'll start to see the same things over and over, and learn to look for them. Fore some people, it's the dialog, or the absence of dialog. For others it's how much description the author lays down.

There is no right or wrong answer. What one person likes, another may completely hate. But give an opinion, and never forget that it is just that.

Ok. There are elements that CAN be right or wrong. Mostly those are SPAG issues, Spelling, Punctuation, And Grammar. Even SPAG has some grey areas, particularly in internationalization and some uses of commas.

I mentioned feedback earlier. Obviously, these critiques are the feedback that helps the writer. But what feedback do you get on reviewing?

You will get plenty of feedback. The author may say, "I don't agree on this point, because...", or he or she may say. "Ah, yes! That's what was bothering me but I couldn't quite put my finger on it." And you'll also see comments from other reviewers, agreeing or disagreeing with some of your points.