1. Keith Trimm

Keith Trimm Banned

Writing, or any art, why do it?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Keith Trimm, Jan 4, 2013.

I've been a life long painter, musician, writer, etc... and have had my work torn to shreds for as long as I have created it. There is always someone ready to pounce on your work and rip it apart and send you back wondering why did I ever put the effort into it in the first place.

Here is the answer.

I enjoy what I do. I dislike critics with a passion. And art is what it is.

My style is not your style and your standards are not my standards. If you can get past page 2 of my book, you will probably finish it. If not, go make a snow cone or wire up some illegal cable to entertain yourself.

Critics and lawyers belong in the same boat. Both are useful for something, just not sure what exactly.

I don't want to create the "perfect" book. That would be dull. I want to make you think like I do.

2. Pheonix

Pheonix A Singer of Space Operas and The Fourth Mod of RP Contributor

Well then... I wish you well.

3. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

This was in the wrong place so I've moved it.

1) Why write? Why do anything? If it's just because you enjoy it then what more do you need? Writing is just a form of communication, the importance is inherent in the act.

2) You don't like critics, ok ... why do you think they exist? Do you think criticism is just about ruining art? I'm seriously trying to wrap my head around that one to be honest. Literary theory and criticism is not just about trying to get an amateur to improve their work but it's also about recognizing good work and why it is good.

3) Perfection cannot be proven to exist unless you have something like Plato's theory of forms. So to me the 'perfect books' (and I can name a few I think are perfect) are those that have either stood the test of time or are likely to.

4. Mithrandir

Mithrandir New Member

In the general vicinity of the Atlantic Ocean