1. MarcT

MarcT Active Member

Hello from Buenos Aires!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MarcT, Aug 16, 2016.

I'm British and live in Buenos Aires, Argentina, where I write and build computer systems.
    When I'm doing neither of these, I'm usually riding my motorbike around the endless plains of this enormous country.
    Writing has always been a major part of my life from short stories and soppy poems when I was younger and later, newsletters to my family and friends during my travels around the world.
    More recently I've been writing how-to articles in a tech blog, which I've been doing for a couple of years, but they have morphed into social commentary now, with a little satire thrown in for a more interesting flavour.
    The last major project I finished and self published was back in 2007, which was an autobiographical account at how I arrived in Argentina from England via Spain. One could describe it as a love story with an adventure strapped on, or perhaps the other way round, depending on one's point of view. It's called Ten to Seven by the way.
    Anyway, as of now and following three or four semi-abandoned writing projects (one of which I've been able to splice into my current project) I'm writing the story of an unusual South American president who isn't all that he seems, whilst drawing heavily from the colourful and dramatic political scene, here in Argentina.
    The more I write the book, the more I feel that I'm writing parody; the entire project is simply growing organically and I can feel myself veering off into parody or perhaps even satire at times, which I've come to realise, is probably my preferred style.
    Yes, this is a long introduction, which I hope conveys something about me and I'm looking forward to contributing something, at the very least to this community, if I possibly can.
    Cheers!

Freethesea likes this.
  2. I.A. By the Barn

I.A. By the Barn A very lost time traveller Contributor