1. Gonissa

Gonissa New Member

Writing Conferences

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by Gonissa, Feb 17, 2012.

So who here goes to writing conferences? What goes on there? Does it help you get known and published?

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

A couple of thoughts:

I've attended only three conferences, and presented at two smaller ones, so I'm not an expert.

Not all conferences are created equal. Some have better guests and presenters and programming. Some are over priced and some that are in expensive--well, you get what you pay for. The best thing to do is to talk to folks who've attended before, if you can.

Go with a purpose. If you have a completed manuscript, go to conference that offer a chance to pitch directly to an agent or an editor. It may cost a little extra, but it's your chance to avoid the slush pile.

Be open and friendly. Have business cards, and follow up on contacts before you forget them and they forget you.

Participate and ask questions. That's what you're there for. Of course, be balanced, between a wall flower type and an over-assertive boar type.

I'd go to one that is local--that you can easily drive to and home, maybe a hotel stay for a night if needed. I don't think it's worth plane tickets and such, but that's just me.

3. funkybassmannick

funkybassmannick New Member

I agree, stay local. Maybe if your favorite author of all time was presenting at one across the country, you may consider going. But they are everywhere.

I've only been to one, but I definitely want to go again. There were classes all day, like lectures or discussions that zero in on various aspects of writing. We also got to meet with agents and pitch to them at various times throughout the first two days (It went F-Su). There was a Q&A with agents, which was really helpful because I wanted to know more about them, what they look for, etc.