1. Millyme11

Millyme11 Member

The chapter I am writing seems boring - this chapter introduces a new character.

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Millyme11, Apr 12, 2017.

I am currently on Chapter 4 of a novel I have finally sat down to write which I have been holding onto for a few years. I have fully fleshed out an outline that I am working closely against and the Chapter is essential to the story as this new character is a main character that aids the protagonist and is vital to the plot.

The issue I am having is that this current Chapter seems very boring to me and I am not very motivated to write it. If the Chapter is boring to me then I think it will be boring to future readers.

How can I keep motivated for the remainder of the chapter, and how do I make sure that I have a captivating Chapter?

2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

In general its give yourself permission to be crap - first drafts always suck - just right the story down, you can polish it later etc

however - if you find what you are writing boring then it may be better to condemn it and start over... could the character be introduced in a more dynamic/exciting/funny way.... are you suffering from trying to show everything (that is if in one seen bob rows with his girlfriend and slams the door shouting "fuck this, i'm going to get wasted" you can open the next scene in the bar with him already half cut , rather than showing him walking to his car, driving to the bar, getting out of is car, walking to the bar, going in, getting his first drink, hs second etc etc)

3. Millyme11

Millyme11 Member

Thank you, I don't think I could scrap it just yet. With it being my first draft I fell like I just want to get it done and then revise. I'm not brave enough to just delete it.