Tags:
  1. Rodney_Rofferson

Rodney_Rofferson New Member

How do I write a poem?

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by Rodney_Rofferson, Mar 2, 2018.

How do I write a poem?

Here’s the thing… I have a muse. I don’t even know how he looks like, but he’s been urging me to write a poem. I know WHAT to write, but I don’t know HOW. Basically, I’m asking for some guidelines. I want advice from experienced people, like the ones here. You and the others, basically…

Like, what kind of poem should it be? I’m sure there are multiple types of poem styles that can be done. I just don’t know which would be best for me.

Just tell me your thoughts on this, please. I don’t really know where or how to start.

Thanks.

Iain Aschendale likes this.
  2. OB1

OB1 Active Member

I am no literary expert n'or a published poet. But whenever I have written a poem I just write what comes to my mind and put it down on paper.

I have used poetry in the past when I have been wrestling with anxiety and over worked scenarios, worries etc, thoughts and feelings play havoc with my mind and body.

Lots of people may disagree but I believe the beauty of poetry is that there are no rules. Unless that is you are doing a specific method of poetry. But by the sounds of things you aren't after that!

Just put pen to paper.

deadrats likes this.
  3. 8Bit Bob

8Bit Bob Here ;) Contributor

I'd have to respectfully disagree. Poetry without rules is not poetry at all. What makes poetry poetry is the fact that it has structure outside of the structure the English language provides (sentences, paragraphs etc.), not what the content is.