1. Zero the Hero

Zero the Hero New Member

Abstract Writing

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Zero the Hero, Jan 9, 2017.

As a writer, my focus is on the absurd, the grotesque, etc. within the short story format. In doing so, it is essential to create a surreal and otherworldly atmosphere.

One method is the "less is more" approach, to create an impression through the elements you're excluding.

I do the following:

When it comes to setting, I don't name the location the story occurs in, instead referring to it simply as the "town" "city" "village" etc. as the case may be. I don't name the time of its' occurrence either (no years, decades, centuries etc.) and describe the technology obliquely, so it is unclear when the story takes place.

As for characters, I never give them proper names but instead refer to them by their familial and occupational titles (i.e. "father" "toll-keeper" "shop-keep" "sister" etc.) I always write in the first person and never name the narrator, identifying him simply as "I".

I never write dialogue but instead describe it secondhand. Instead of writing out an argument between two characters, I write something like "We exchanged words, harshly and bitterly, before storming in opposite directions."

When it comes to staging and action, I present space and time obliquely. Instead of stating exact measurements of either, I keep my language vague and imprecise ("The tower was a great distance away, and so a great distance I drove.")

When describing the appearance of things, I often don't state their names but instead break them down to their constituent parts and describe those so the reader knows what it is. For instance, instead of writing a "skyscraper" I write "a tall form, rectangular and metallic, penetrated the sky."