1. Michael Thompson

Michael Thompson Member

Back Story, Before the Main Story

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by Michael Thompson, Feb 1, 2016.

This may be a tough question to get answered by anyone if they haven't read my story, but....

I have been writing a sci-fi story. I am new to writing and I am not a big reader of books, so it's a bit of a challenge. I am however proud of my 83,000-word story!

The first couple chapters are a back story... They take place a long, long time ago... The characters you meet in these chapters, you never hear from again... The main character makes his debut after this.

I have had a few people beta read my latest draft and they seem to love it... But a literary agent read only the first chapter and seemed confused.

He said there was too much action for a first chapter... I need more development for my characters...

My question is, should I maybe write a small paragraph or two at the start of Chapter 1 saying, this takes place blah, blah... (like before each Star Wars movie) or, just trust the reader will figure it out as they read PAST Chapter 1? Or should I maybe name each Chapter? Like: Chapter 1 - 66 Million Years Ago, to give the reader a hint or what's going on?

jannert likes this.
  2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I would suggest thinking about why you need the backstory, and how you could arrange not to need it. Maybe you really, really need it, but my feeling is that most of the time, backstory is not needed. Removing it can produce the tension of incomplete knowledge and of discovery...and those are good things. Handling them is a more difficult juggling act, but it's likely to lead to a better result, IMO.

kateamedeo and Cave Troll like this.
  3. Imaginarily

Imaginarily Disparu en Mer Contributor

Eh, it depends on your goal. If your motivation is to sell, other members here can help you far more than I can.