1. kburns421

kburns421 Member

Book review blog a bad idea?

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by kburns421, Apr 11, 2015.

As an aspiring author, I obviously read a lot. I like to give recognition to authors who write good books and like to share the great finds, so I'm thinking of starting a simple blog to post reviews, as well as Amazon and Goodreads. I only plan on reviewing the books I like enough to give 4 and 5 stars, but I'm afraid I'll still somehow make enemies or hurt my future as a writer.

Do other authors write book reviews? Is that a thing? Does anyone here both write and review?

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I don't do it myself because places like Goodreads and Amazon are the obvious go-to places for such things. Who's going to read my blog? But established (pronounced well-known)authors do often talk about and give informal reviews of the items they happen to be reading as part of an interview. It's a common thing.

3. kburns421

kburns421 Member

Well, I'm really using the blog as more of a central hub for the reviews, not because I expect to become a famous blogger. I'm just worried about the whole review writing thing in general and whether it could cause problems.

4. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I mean, it depends on what you call a problem? I've read interviews where writers are not kind at all concerning the books they are reading. What problems do you foresee, that you are trying to avert?

5. kburns421

kburns421 Member