1. puttyfish

puttyfish New Member

submitting to multiple publishers

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by puttyfish, Dec 11, 2007.

Hi
    I'm new at all of this and was looking for some advice. I spent weeks doing my research about submitting to several publishers and the advice was if you do let them know that you have done this and it seems accetable. Ok, so far so good...

That's exactly what I did and sent it out to twelve publishers accepting unsolicated manuscripts. Thing is, I then was 'told' that this was wrong and that I should never submit to more than one at a time because if several publishers do take the time to get behind the manuscript (I know optimistic - gotta be haven't you!) and find out that they have been pipped by another it can damage my credability - DOH!

Is this the case? I'm a newbie - there is so much conflicting advice it's hard to know which is best...? If it is true, is there a chance that this will be overlooked this time?

I was then advised that the best thing to do is send my manuscript out to my favourite publisher and then contact several agents (5 at a time, wait three weeks, then 5 more and so on, also telling them that I am submitting to several agents)

Does any of this sound right? could anyone give me any clear advice I could follow for manuscript number 2??

Thanks in advance
    K.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

...by whom?... if it was anyone other than the publishers telling you that, ignore it... if it was a publisher, then you must not have checked their guidelines well enough, or they neglected to mention they don't take simsubs...

...ridiculous, since you say you did let them know that you were sending it as a simsub... so, how can your 'credibility' be damaged when you were honest and upfront about it?... what you were told would only be true if you didn't tell them it was a simsub and they specifically stated in their guidelines that they don't accept same...