1. Shlockmaster

Shlockmaster New Member

Crime fiction help

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Shlockmaster, Jan 6, 2018.

I'm pretty new here [i think i forgot to add an introduction thread] and i need some help with some crime stories.
    I've been working hard on an ambitious project since 2016 [having re-written it repeatedly] and I've only just noticed some major mistakes.
    The things that are bothering me the most is that:
    1: i've graphically portrayed a multiple homicide happening. Should i have done that? It is suppose to be a mystery after all
    2: I've realized there's a drastic shift in tone between chapters. While the policeman protagonist is investigating crimes, his teenage sons are getting into slapstick riddled mischief. Is it ok to have kids mucking about while homicides are being committed?
    3: One of the antagonists is named after two of the worst serial killers in modern times [i wasn't very creative with his name]. Should i change his name? Anyone over the age of 30 will figure out who dun it after seeing his name.
    4: Diversity without being an SJW. The oafish policeman protagonist has an ethnic, female officer on his team who is much more observant and tends to notice clues and evidence faster than he does. Should i change this?
    Any feedback would be appreciated

2. Lemie

Lemie Contributor Contributor

1. I've read plenty of crime novels where the murders are pretty graphic. As long as you just give out the right amount of clues while writing them, I'd say it's okay. Depending on the tone, of course. There are nice and cozy murder mysteries and there are those who only seems to have been written for the shock value - and everything in between.