1. Cady36

Cady36 Member

<clever and original new member post title>

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Cady36, Jan 4, 2009.

Hey, guys - thanks for the help you've given me already.

I'm a computer geek - programmer and graphic designer - living in a funky old off-the-electrical-grid log cabin in the Idaho Panhandle Mountains. I work from home and I work pretty odd hours, mostly making my own schedule. That, and the fact that we're currently snowed in and probably will be until March or so, means that I've got some time on my hands right now, and writing seemed like a good way to fill it.

I wrote lots of songs as a kid, and some fiction in my late 20s, including an unfinished novel. My entire fiction publishing resume consists of one short-short story for an arts magazine in Portland, Oregon. The only reason the story was published is that a friend of mine submitted it without my permission. I married the friend and I still have the $15 uncashed check around here somewhere.

I have written college text books for graphics applications (Photoshop, Quark, Pagemaker, etc.), lots of advertising copy, a few corporate/business articles of the sort that are published in Daily Journal of Commerce. Lately, it's been mostly website copy and hyperbole, and not a lot of that; if I'm dealing with complex programming issues, I cannot write.

I read a lot, perhaps 5-6 books a week, in most genres...I do a lot of rereading. When I'm hitting the library or bookstore myself, I usually head toward fantasy or science fiction, and an occasional horror novel, but I will literally read anything. When we're out of town, if I run out of book, I will read myself to sleep with the phone book.