1. keats81

keats81 New Member

Novel I have made a lot of progress on my book and need encouragement and counseling

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by keats81, Jun 20, 2011.

Okay so I started to create my world and characters back in 2004. I drew pictures of places, events, and characters and messed around with story ideas and all that. The current story-line I'm going with is four years strong if you don't count the development which has taken seven years, mainly due to the fact that I am a student and have other matters to attend to. I have just about 9 chapters written out of about 20 planned for book one which is really good. It's the farthest I've ever gotten with this. In the past I used to only get up to three or so and then I'd get tired of my story and change something.
    However, this time is different. I have just been writing and writing and have, in some places, been less descriptive because the plan is to go back and edit when I'm done. The story feels so alive and the world seems so much fuller and complex. Yet it is so simple to write due to all the work done in the past.

Every now and then i have writers block, like anyone, even though I know where the story is going. Do you have any tips? methods? I really just wanted to hear your thoughts on this now that I am nearly nine chapters in. One method I use is telling myself: hey the idea seemed amazing when you first thought it up. Don't change it, work with it until it fits better. That is how I have avoided making major plot changes that slowed me down in the past. It seems effective considering the chapters are usually 15 to 25 pages in length. I almost have 200 pages written :)