1. duncan9021

duncan9021 New Member

Novel Unsure whether to write novel or take writing course first....

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by duncan9021, Nov 21, 2019.

Hello all,

First time poster on here.

I have always fancied myself as bit of a writer and I have an idea for a epic fantasy novel, but I am unsure if I should just charge on and start to write my novel or should I first take a writing course (or courses ) as I am aware I am just a novice after all and have much to learn.

Thanks!
    Garry

2. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor

I would personally start by writing smaller. Large epic fantasies are fairly involved and can get overwhelming, but it's all up to what you want to do. Writing courses can be fun, but aren't necessary to write successfully, whereas actually writing is.

3. duncan9021

duncan9021 New Member

Thanks for the feedback, the reason I think I need to do a course or something similar is because I struggle with the concept of 'Showing and not telling', but you think this would naturally improve with the more I write is what you're saying ?

4. 8Bit Bob

8Bit Bob Here ;) Contributor

Personally I would do as Dapper said and start by writing smaller. Write some short stories, take a class or two, hone your skills, and then maybe you can move on to an epic fantasy. I'm not saying you have to do it this way, it's just what I would do in your situation. If you want you could even start by writing short stories that take place in the same universe as your proposed epic to help flesh out the world building a bit.

5. The Dapper Hooligan

Writing is like any skill. The more you practice it, the better you'll get. Lessons will help, but I've found that reading and writing helps me more.

Cave Troll and duncan9021 like this.
  6. duncan9021

duncan9021 New Member

That's a great idea, thanks.

7. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor

Or you could do both.