1. Irish87

Irish87 New Member

Novel Does Length Matter?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Irish87, Jun 7, 2009.

I suppose the title of the post was done more so out of humor than anything else, but it does encapsulate my issue. You see, I've been writing a novel for about two months now and I'm currently on chapter eighteen (hooray). Each chapter is roughly four to five thousand words. I know, I know, I should probably put more into it, but honestly I haven't begun revising yet and I'm not one of those people who can honestly write a four hundred thousand word novel where every brother, nephew, cousin, aunt, and slightly related half uncle of sorts has his own story. Also, I tend to skip the boring parts. Do you really want to read about the main character eating a damned bologna sandwich? I don't.

With all of that said, however, I am beginning to get shorter and shorter in my chapter length. I've gone from 4.5k as average to 4k as being long. Currently, my eighteenth chapter is only two thousand words long and I'm running out of things to write about. I want to continue the story, but it truly feels as though there should be a stop in the telling of it then and there. Essentially, in the current chapter, the main character meets a fairly important person and some details about the antagonist are learned. The next step, literally, is the beginning of the end. If I just start going into the confrontation then I'll be making a real moron out of myself... I think.

I think I might just be over thinking all of this.