1. ArckAngel

ArckAngel New Member

Memoir questions

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by ArckAngel, Feb 12, 2011.

So at the moment I've lived in China for 6 months. And I've had some interesting experiences. More to the point of this thread, people around me have as well. Sometimes not so flattering. How do you respect the privacy of others when writing a memoir? Other than just changing names and such, because if I point out that the writing is about my time in China, well then it's pretty obvious who I'm talking about if one were to know them.

On another note, how do you feel about reading a memoir by a young author? I'm only 24, and I feel a memoir has to be about a long and hard life (Angela's Ashes) and yet I also feel my time in China has been interesting enough to read about.

Thoughts?

2. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

You don't have to be old to write a memoir, unless you're writing about your lifespan or something. For writing about some sort of specific experience, you could be 10 and it would be all good as long as it's well written.

If you don't want people involved to know, obviously change names, but you might want to consider using a pen name - this depends on how sensitive the info involved is. Get your friends' permission before using their stories and maybe talk to a lawyer to be safe?

I know some stuff about libel laws, but everything I know is for media writers, so I'm not sure if it's different for fiction - haven't been in that situation.

3. arron89

arron89 Banned

It could fall better into the domain of travel writing than memoir. 6 months isn't a particularly long time (at least in terms of a memoir), so travel writing would seem more apt, and it would allow you to explore more than just 'this is what happened to me', which seems like the kind of thing you are trying to do anyway.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor