Tags:
  1. Steve Coombes

Steve Coombes Member

Do Agents take the piss?

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by Steve Coombes, Feb 8, 2019.

Hi
    I am new to all this. I have completed my novel and am starting to look for an agent. I have sent out a couple of queries and had automated replies saying in effect 'wait 3 months and we might get back to you.' One even said: 'If any other agents look interested in your work please contact us imediately.'
    I couldn't believe it. They wanted 3 months but asked me to act within 24 hours!!

I don't understand why they need so long. If they have so many queries why not get more staff or close the unsolicited submission option.

It seems to me a cut throat biz. I have read elsewhere that it is not good form to send out dozens of queries at the same time. Why is that? If agents are going to take so long to look at your work why not mail 100 at a time. Personalize each one of course but why hold back?

Would appreciate some more experiences writers views and advice on what best to do.

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I think the warning about not sending out 100 queries at the same time is related to strategy more than etiquette. If you find you're not getting good responses to your queries, you may want to re-write/re-shape your query, your first pages, or whatever. If you've already sent your query to all the reputable agents in your genre, you don't really have the opportunity to make those changes and fine tune things for a better acceptance rate.

In general, I wouldn't say that publishing is especially cut-throat, but it IS really, really, REALLY slow. Frustrating, I know. I think it's just a total buyers' market - so many people want to write, and not nearly that many can make a living with agenting or publishing.

Fiender_ and jannert like this.
  3. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView