1. Nadnight258

Nadnight258 New Member

How to start writing?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Nadnight258, Jun 7, 2015.

Hi, I'm a student and I'm interested in writing. I've just finished my exams so can now devote time to it however I attempted a piece of creative writing using a prompt, but I can't seem to get into the flow of things. It's all up there in my head (I narrate scenes in my head during the day :') ) but I have trouble getting onto paper. I over think the details (like planning characters and plot) and can't seem to just relax and let the words flow. Does anyone have any advice?
    Thankyou:D

2. Jack Kensington

Jack Kensington New Member

Hello and welcome to the forum. I'm new to writing and the forum as well.

When I was young, say 12-13, which was 7 years ago I used to struggle in English lessons. We were told to create a story and lessons were an hour long.

It would take me around 10 to 15 minutes just to start beginning to write the story as I agonized about, what was the story about? How on earth do I start it? Where the HELL DO I BEGIN?!

Now I've just begun my novel and I'm around sixteen thousand words into the project and it's taken me around a month from lack of time to not knowing what to write. I got past that by just taking one idea and then writing it, and voila, it turned out fine. Now, if it didn't turn out fine I would have scrapped it and remade it. I've remodeled a start of a chapter once, deleted around five hundred words and ended up replacing that with two thousand.

My only advice is to just start writing and experiment. If it doesn't work, ask yourself why? Why don't you like it? How can you change it so you do?

For planning, maybe create separate word docs for each character, setting etc and then describe them and state the facts about them.