1. Sarah Naidoo

Sarah Naidoo Member

Can I writer request an advance after a book is published?

Discussion in 'Publisher Discussion' started by Sarah Naidoo, Dec 10, 2023.

Hi guys,

Just recently got my debut novel traditionally published by a large domestic publisher. I'm really new to this so forgive my naivety. An advance was not part of publication offer and I did not request one. I recently lost my job about a month after the book was released. I've been having some real financial troubles and I was wondering if it is possible/common for authors to ask for an advance payment after publication? I would really love to give my family a good Christmas this year and I've been struggling applying for jobs. But it seems I may have run out of time.

I do have two new manuscripts that will be ready in the first week of January. Can these be used as leverage for an advance in any way?

Obviously royalties will only be paid out once the advance has been paid back.

Does this ever happen? I'm South African and my book is published domestically.

Last edited: Dec 10, 2023
  2. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

An advance is something you would have to negotiate in the contract before you sign it. And the truth is most books don't earn back their advances, but publishers know this and authors are never required to pay back any advance regardless of how sales go. Also, advances are usually paid in thirds. The first payment comes when you sign the contract. The next payment comes after the revision process while working with the editor is completed. And the final payment comes when the book hits the market. So, I highly doubt what you're looking for is how any publisher would do business. It sort of seems like you want to borrow against potential future sales. Now, that the book is published there would be no reason to offer an advance.