1. newjerseyrunner

newjerseyrunner Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2022

A background of physics and it's theoretical potentials for fiction

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by newjerseyrunner, Nov 22, 2016.

I often read sci-fi and find that writers tend to use physics phenomenon or theories which to the general public are quite obscure and mysterious. They often use them incorrectly or completely violate the rules they're supposed to be using. I thought I would provide a thread that gives some incite into how we determined what the rules are and what some of the actual strange behavior is. The universe is weird, but it's not as mysterious as most people think it is. I'd also like to invite questions or requests for more detail on whatever aspect of physics you wish. As a computer scientist, my expertise is obviously in the quantum mechanics, but I've kept myself in circles of physicists from varying disciplines and read the literature often.

Classical Physics

Natural Philosophy (Birth of man - 1728)
    Man has always tried to figure out the universe. Ironically, religion was the first science. They used it to describe the seasons, life, flood... It worked and was consistent with everything that they knew. A long slow trickle of knowledge began when we started writing with people like Imhotep and Archimedes making the first ideas of how things worked, they discovered the five basic machines, but not much else happened until mathematics really took off.

Motion, Gravity, and Electromagnetism (1728 - 1915)