1. The Peanut Monster

The Peanut Monster New Member

Two protagonists: same end, different means

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by The Peanut Monster, May 10, 2013.

Hi there,

I'm very new to writing, and so placing a tentative toe in the waters here to see what sorts of ripples I make...

I'm writing a piece of dystopia, set in a fundamentally unequal society. I'm exploring the idea of having two protagonists, each with the same goal: trying to change the system, but with different approaches: one from within, one from without. The main conflicts are with each other and with the system itself. Is such an approach advisable? Has anyone tried this? Is it too much work to get the reader to empathise with two largely different MCs?

A quick search on dual protagonist novels tends to lead me down the romance path, and I'm not really wanting to go there.

Any tips on how to use multiple main characters is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Mauthos

Mauthos Member

Not sure on a good use, but try reading the Painted Man (Warded Man in America I think) by Peter V Brett. 3 books so far and he successfully uses multiple main character's especially 2 of them trying to head down similar paths but taking different approaches to get there.

Also any of Joe Abercrombie's books are good to check out as again he generally writes about several main protagonists in his novels.

Hope that is of some help.

3. Xatron

Xatron New Member

In the Warded Man the characters you are talking about are not heading down similar paths but rather their goals have adjacent results. Nevertheless it is a great example of what the OP is looking for.

It is one of the most common approaches so you can find many examples if you look for them.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

sounds good to me!... give it a go...

5. TerraIncognita

TerraIncognita Aggressively Nice Person Contributor

My thoughts exactly. :)