1. Flying Geese

Flying Geese Senior Member

Have you made any worthwile money from your novel? Also, has one of your novels failed miserably :)

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Flying Geese, Jun 4, 2015.

The title is basically all I'm wondering. I'm not in it for the money. But I would like to hear from people who have stories of either success or failure and what they think contributed to their outcomes.

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I've made okay money. I've been publishing for about five years, and for the last two years I've made more from writing than I would have if I were working a full-time minimum-wage job. So, not enough for me to want to live on it, but not bad for a hobby.

I've definitely had flops, though, mostly when I try to step outside of the box readers seem to expect from me (contemporary m/m romance). I think it connects to the idea that it's really hard to get new readers, but not as hard to keep the ones you've already got.

Woof likes this.
  3. EmptySoul

EmptySoul Active Member

My income from writing varies greatly. Over the last ten years there have been times I made as much as $6,000. Other years I barely cracked $100. Generally speaking, my successes usually were the result of rewriting and reworking rejected pieces, salvaging what I could from even the most abysmal failure, and closely tailoring my work to the market I was aiming for.

4. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

I've made some money from writing. It used to be my main source of income (I was a journalist) but now I'm a teacher, I don't have the newspaper.

5. EmptySoul

EmptySoul Active Member