Tags:
  1. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor

How often do you look at your Amazon reporting

Discussion in 'Self-Publishing' started by Laurin Kelly, Jul 24, 2020.

I was previously with a traditional publisher before they went out of business, so I was very used to not having a clue how many of my books I'd sold beyond quarterly.

I published my backlist on Amazon recently including Kidle Unlimited, and I can't help myself from looking at my stats every day (it doesn't help that I'm a Data Analyst by trade).

For those of you who have self-pubbed on Amazon, how often do you check your reporting?

Last edited: Jul 24, 2020
    NK_UT, Larro and jannert like this.
  2. marshipan

marshipan Contributor Contributor

Depends on if I know what to expect or not. If I just published something, I check it a bit compulsively. If not, then about once a day.

NK_UT likes this.
  3. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

are you advertising ? if so you need to keep a careful eye on the KDP dash because the data there is a lot more reliable than the AMS dash

if you're not advertising then it doesn't really matter (but don't expect to make many sales unless you have a big mailing list of similar)

NK_UT likes this.
  4. Cephus

Cephus Contributor Contributor

Depending on the situation, I will check every day, just to see how ad campaigns are doing.

NK_UT likes this.
  5. Laurin Kelly

Right now I'm not doing any advertising - honestly, the self-publishing was more about making my books available again than trying to generate a lot of sales. So far I'm selling 1-4 ebooks per day and averaging a bit over 1K in KU page reads daily, which is a lot better than I expected! To be fair, I expected nothing so the bar was pretty low.