1. ApplJ

ApplJ New Member

Too similar or unoriginal?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by ApplJ, Jul 3, 2018.

Hello all! I'm a pretty young writer, but I want to come out of my shell and actually share my stories with people other than my family. The problem is, I have a habit of coming up with "ideas" that I subconsciously copied from someone else.

I really hate it, and I want to check if my recent idea is unoriginal before it's too late

This is what the story is supposed to be:
    A lowly secretary and several others are revealed to have been kidnapped, murdered, and replaced by robotic clones. A gritty detective follows all the clues he can before he meets the same fate as the others. A boy, (feminine, naïve, bubbly) possibly a relative to the original detective, manages to catch the culprit(s) by diving into their mechanical world via disguise.

Thank you!

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Some people say all story ideas are copies. And to some extent that is true. Don't worry about it, write it, that's where you make it your unique story.

DK3654 likes this.
  3. Kalisto

Kalisto Senior Member

Everyone starts out copying ideas. This is normal. It's because the human experience is limited. And most writers who are young are just trying to find their own voice. I would rather a young writer just write, even if the ideas aren't all that original, then become so discouraged at being unoriginal that they fail to write a single word! There's always rewrites and you won't publish your first story anyway. You just won't.

DK3654 likes this.
  4. badgerjelly

badgerjelly Contributor Contributor

I remember watching Avatar and thinking if I wrote my book people would assume I got the idea from the movie. The great Caparg Tree of the Pellad Kingdoms, and a people who live primarily off the trees in hamony with nature etc.