1. 123456789

123456789 Contributor Contributor

taking break from writing

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by 123456789, Jan 9, 2015.

Maybe you're busier. Maybe you're in between drafts and you don't feel like being absorbed in something else. Maybe you're tired. Does anyone take breaks from writing? I'm talking about not writing, period. Use that time instead for extra reading.

Just like with anything else, I think extended breaks are bad and impede progress but I'm hoping a small break, maybe between 1 and 3 weeks can sometimes be good? What do others think, based on their own experiences?

This is more of a question to those here who write consistently.

2. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

Because I'm a student I need to alternate between academic writing and fictional writing. But honestly, I think if you don't have anything to say in fiction then why are you really writing fiction? Maybe a break between drafts or whatever is what you need to get you all good and angry, or just recharge the creative juices so you can go back to it with new eyes.

Taking a break from a work is something I think everyone should do, as it creates distance between you and the work and lets you see it more objectively. Maybe the true is same of writing in general?

3. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

I feel bad when I don't write and take lots of time off.
    Feel like I'm betraying myself because I want to be an author yet purposefully slacking off.

I take breaks from certain stories I work on just to let the ideas simmer and get a change of pace when I need to
    But other than that, I try to keep myself invested in the writing world whether it's reading about it, working on my projects, finding homes for said projects, or whatever.

However, nothing wrong with taking 1-2 days off to unwind, relax, and do fun stuff.
    Like anything, you need to have a day off or so just to not go crazy.

123456789 likes this.