1. Cady36

Cady36 Member

Reviewing "old" stories

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Cady36, Jan 6, 2009.

Is it OK to review stories that have been posted for a couple-three weeks, or is that just sort of a waste of time?

I'm loving reviewing, even though I'm not very good at it yet.

Thanks,

Cady

2. Daedalus

Daedalus Active Member

I don't think there's any problem reviewing works that are a few weeks old, no. Just make sure the poster is still active (you can find out by going into his/her user profile) and make sure they haven't specifically asked for no more reviews. People do that now and again, when they're in the process of editing the piece for re-post.

If the piece is three or four months old, though, I don't know if it would be worth it, and the person may not want any more reviews.

3. garmar69

garmar69 Contributor Contributor

Reviewing is never a waste of time if you put your best efforts into it. There are plenty of newer stories to pick from though and that would benefit both you and the writer.

4. Cady36

Cady36 Member

Thanks, guys - I've responded to a lot of the newer stories that I feel capable of saying anything constructive about. Some I just don't get, some I can't see any changes to make, and some are fraught with SPAG errors that I don't feel qualified to correct. I'd hate to actually give SPAG a shot on one of these and have someone muuuuuch more qualified come along; confusing to the author, and the other review would probably be much more helpful than mine. Also, when I correct grammar, I tend to also adjust sentences for clarity, and I don't want to mess with anyone's style.

(And I don't think "I don't get it" or just a post of praise are really valid reviews, coming from me :))

Anyway, I'd just noticed in the genres I'm most comfortable in, I've reviewed the stories that have come in in the last day or two, and was wondering if there was a time limit.

Thanks for the quick responses!

Cady

5. Cogito