1. cndnveggie

cndnveggie New Member

Worrying about accuracy and realism - too early?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by cndnveggie, May 13, 2013.

Total newbie here! I'm still taking time to look through previous threads, but thought I would post my question anyways.

How early in your writing do you worry about accuracy and realism? Do you just let yourself write early on and then come back and edit for accuracy later? Or do you stop and research to make sure things are fairly accurate as you go? By accurate/realistic, I mean the little details that don't necessarily affect the plot line, but that would add to the depth and authenticity of the story, or that maybe give a plausible back story. I'm finding myself getting caught up in the details, and getting discouraged by the amount of research I could do/need to do in order to make things believable. But in reality, it's not critical to the story I'm writing. Should I just focus on the main points and worry about details later, or start getting into the habit of researching as I go?

TIA!

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

I research as I go along. However, this approach may not work for you. You may find that researching as you write is distracting and prevents you from actually finishing what you've started. So my advice is to choose the method that is the most productive for you.

3. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor